Committed to the Pursuit of Justice
Call Today For Your Free Consultation 888.499.6206
Rosenberg & Rosenberg, P.A Committed to the Pursuit of Justice

Everything You Need to Know About Payment of Your Workers' Comp Claim

How Much Will You Get Paid for Your Workers’ Compensation Claim?

Your benefit check will be paid bi-weekly and will be calculated based on 66 2/3 percent of your average weekly wages. If the injuries occurred prior to October 1, 2003, the payment will be based off your wage earnings within the 91-day period prior to your injuries. If for any reason, you worked any less than 90% of the 91-day period prior to your injuries, your payment will be based off the wages of an employee who worked the whole 91-day period or equivalent to your full-time weekly pay.

If your injuries occurred after October 1, 2003, then your average weekly wages are calculated by looking at your wages earned 13 weeks before your injury, not including the actual week you were hurt. Additionally, even if you only worked 75% of those 13 weeks prior to your injury, your full-time weekly wage or the income of an employee who has worked the entire 13 weeks will be used as the basis for your payment.

Will You Have to Pay Income Taxes on Money From This Claim?

No, you will not have to pay income tax on this money. If you do return to work on limited duties, but you still have to be under the provision of your same authorized doctor as when you were off work, you will have to pay taxes on those wages earned.

How Quickly Will You Receive Your First Check?

You should expect to get your first check within 21 days of reporting your injuries to your employer.

Do You Have to Pay Any Medical Bills?

No, all of your authorized medical expenses should be submitted to your employer’s insurance company by your medical provider.

Will You Receive Payment for Any Time Lost at Work?

According to Florida laws, you will not be paid for the first seven days of disability. If your disability lasts longer than 21 days, you may be eligible to be paid for the first seven days by your employer’s insurance company.

Call Rosenberg & Rosenberg, P.A. Today!

If you have any additional questions about how to pursue workers’ compensation claims in Fort Lauderdale, do not hesitate to get in touch with our firm. We have over 160 years of combined experience handling workers’ comp claims throughout Florida.

Having recovered hundreds of thousands of dollars for numerous clients, speak with our Fort Lauderdale workers’ comp attorneys today for the qualified representation you both need and deserve.

Free consultation offered. Available 24/7 to all clients!