After being injured on the job, one of your first questions may be, "how much will I get paid?" In Florida, the amount and length of time you are paid after an injury varies, depending on your pre-injury wage, the severity of your injury and whether your disability is considered "temporary" or "permanent." You may also be eligible for other types of benefits and payments, which will be discussed below.
Temporary Disability Benefits
Temporary disability benefits are payments to employees who cannot work for a certain amount of time due to work-related injuries. These benefits are typically paid until the employee is able to return to work or until the injury is deemed to be permanent.
- Temporary Partial Disability (TPD) - An injured worker may receive TPD benefits for a period of up to 104 weeks if their doctor allows them to continue to work, but not at the same capacity and if their disability results in an 80 percent decrease in wage.
- Temporary Total Disability (TTD) - An injured worker whose disability prevents them from working in any capacity may receive 66 ⅔ percent of their pre-injury wages for up to 104 weeks. Certain injuries may entitle workers to 80 percent of their wages for up to 6 months.
Permanent Disability Benefits
Permanent disability benefits are a form of workers' compensation paid to an injured worker who suffers an injury that permanently affects their ability to earn a living. These benefits are typically delivered in installments over the course of the worker's lifetime.
- Permanent Partial Disability (PPD) - A permanent partial disability is an injury that results in impairment but does not prevent an individual from returning to work. This type of injury typically results in a loss of earning capacity. PPD benefits are paid out depending on the worker's impairment rating, as stated by their doctor.
- Permanent Total Disability (PTD) - For workers with injuries that render them unable to return to any form of work, they may receive 66 ⅔ percent of their pre-injury wage for the duration of their injury or until they turn 75.
Other Benefits and Expenses That May Be Available to You
In addition to TD and PPD/PTD benefits, there are other types of payments and benefits that may be available to you, such as:
- Reimbursement for all necessary medical treatment related to the injury;
- Mileage reimbursement if you have to travel more than 20 miles round trip for medical treatment;
- Vocational rehabilitation services if necessary;
- Supplemental income benefits if you cannot return to work full time after completing vocational rehabilitation and still have some permanent impairment; or
- Death benefits if a worker dies due to a work-related injury or occupational disease.
- These death benefits include up to $7,500 for funeral expenses and weekly income payments to surviving spouses and dependent children until they reach age 18 (or age 22 if attending college full-time). If there is no surviving spouse or dependent children entitled to death benefits under Florida law, certain other family members may be eligible for death benefits.
If you experienced a workplace injury and are concerned with how you will be compensated, call us today at (888) 499-6206 to schedule a free initial consultation.